VIETNAMESE POLICE INTIMIDATED, BLOCKED MONK FROM CELEBRATING ULLAMBANA

· 1 - News, Other News Sources
Authors

The Most Venerable Thich Nhat Ban, Chief Representative of the Unified Buddhist Church of Vietnam (UBCV) in Dong Nai province, has sent an urgent news release about police using intimidating tactics against his temple’s visitors and tried to block him from joining Ullambana Celebration in Saigon. The News Release reads:

“At midnight August 11, 2011, around 15 police from Long Thanh District, along with Police from Bien Hoa city and Dong Nai province busted into Ba La Mat Temple. The police destroyed the temple’s gate and demanded to check residence registration as they had seen a visiting monk at the temple earlier.

I replied “The government put me in prison 4 years ago; at that time I was living at Dau Phat Dai praying hall. After I was released from prison, the government flattened the praying hall and sent me to this temple without issuing any residence registration to me. How can my residence registration be checked then?”

The police took the visiting monk’s paper work and order “Mr. Thich Nhat Ban has to go to the police station tomorrow for paperwork, the visiting monk doesn’t have to go”

This is clearly a scheme to block my travel plan to The Most Venerable Thich Khong Tanh’s Lien Tri Temple for Ullambana Celebration tomorrow.”

The Most Venerable Thich Nhat Ban, 78, after being brutally assaulted by police at Ba La Mat Temple, Dong nai city, Vietnam.